Across the Buildings

Across the Buildings Competition WinnerIn August 2013 I won the ‘Across the Buildings’ Photography Competition. My image shows a section of the artwork by Felice Varini, which became a popular feature at King’s Cross in London with more than 30,000 people visiting the viewing platform to get a good look at the 542m artwork that spanned across nine heritage buildings.

The King’s Cross Central Limited Partnership launched a competition in association with Eurostar asking the public to help document the stunning temporary piece.

With my entry to the competition I wanted to capture some of the old and the new of King’s Cross, from the Regent’s Canal to the more modern canal side steps, artificial grass and of course the Felice Varini artwork.

The ‘Across the Buildings’ artwork was impressive. Its scale was immediate and added a new reflection to the changing landscape. King’s Cross is a very inspiring place and I found myself using my iPhone to document the dynamic changes taking place when I worked in the area.

The photographer Brendan Bell deemed my photograph as the winner of the competition from scores of entries because it is “a very well composed and executed image reflecting both the area’s historic and contemporary elements”.

About the post

Photography

